Bibs

Book review

Artificial Wisdom by Thomas R. Weaver

Set only a single generation into the future, the world of 'Artificial Wisdom' looks startlingly different from our own, and a population traumatised by climate disasters is polarised and desperate. This is not a bleak, dystopian novel, however, it is first and foremost a murder-mystery set against a backdrop of technology which has continued to evolve from that which we have today. I was hooked by the story straight away, the first page itself has some really powerful imagery which we keep coming back to. The linear narrative is easy to follow and is cinematic in style, and the whole thing put me in mind of quite a range of classic novels and films across genres; Frankenstein, Charlie Chaplin's 'The Great Dictator' and The Matrix to name a few. I did read the last few chapters twice as the pace really ramps up at the end and there are some big surprises in store. A thoroughly enjoyable read, I would love to read a sequel and I look forward to seeing whether some of the technological advances are just around the corner for us in real life.

 

Elizabeth Wickenden

Director - Grapevine Media Group Ltd

 

The unputdownable climate and AI technothriller for fans of murder-mystery and fast-paced twists and turns.

 

SALVATION HAS A PRICE

It's 2050, a decade after a heatwave that killed four hundred million across the Persian Gulf, including journalist Marcus Tully's wife. Now he must uncover the truth: was the disaster natural? Or is the weather now a weapon of genocide?

A whistleblower pulls Tully into a murder investigation at the centre of an election battle for a global dictator, with a mandate to prevent a climate apocalypse. A former US President campaigns against the first AI politician for the position, but someone is trying to sway the outcome.

Tully must convince the world to face the truth and make hard choices about the future of the species. But will humanity ultimately choose salvation over freedom, whatever the cost?

An enthralling murder mystery with a vividly realised future world, forcing readers to grapple with hard hitting questions about the climate crisis, our relationship with Artificial Intelligence and the price we'd be willing to pay, as a species, to be saved. Perfect for fans of Blake Crouch, Harlan Coben, Neal Stephenson, Philip K. Dick, Kim Stanley Robinson and RR Haywood.

 

Genre: Technothriller, Sci-fi

BIC: FL, FH

Publisher: Chainmaker Press

Publication: 5th October 2023

Availability: HB, AB, EB

RRP: £14.99 HB, £14.99 AB, £4.99 EB

Pip Organic
Fables World
Fables World